saucy rose swimwear

A few weeks ago I went to the MODA Creative Summer Fashion Festival, at Oh! Hello in Brisbane’s Fortitude Valley. The event was a celebration of fashion talent from Queensland, with runway shows and some free cocktails thrown in. I went to write about the designers for Raw Ink, and was pretty pleasantly surprised with what I found. While some of what was on show was possibly questionable, I really, really loved what I saw from swimwear brand Saucy Rose.

saucyrose

Designer Sally Cook sources the fabrics for the brand from New York, and makes the pieces in-house, locally, on the Sunshine Coast. The current collection is available to buy from the brand’s website and features kitsch retro prints, from cupcakes and cats to vintage postcards. Inspired by eternal-muse-for-everyone-and-everything Audrey Hepburn, the collection is cutesy and girly and 100% proud about it.

One-pieces and bikinis are adorned with bows and frills and splashes of vibrant pinks and oranges. While I don’t normally go for such girlyness, I really appreciate Cook’s designed and love the fact that the collection is produced just down the road. I feel like Saucy Rose is a great alternative to the mass-produced surf brand stuff that is normally the go-to for swimwear.

Images from Saucyrose.com.

